Look at me!!!

So after milking my shin-jury for all it was worth, I thought that this week I’d actually write about skiing. Specifically, my season edit, which has been kicking around for a little while now, but I’m going to plug it a bit more anyway.

Now, every season since I started making edits, I promise myself that I’ll get some shots that I really like and make an edit that I’m really proud of.

But there’s just something about seeing yourself on film, isn’t there? Maybe it’s just me (it’s probably just me) but I when I’m being filmed (or all the time) I always feel like my riding is so much more stylish than it actually is. And since most of the time I can’t see what I look like it makes the sense of disappointment on seeing shots of me even worse and I think, oh god, is that what I look like all the time?

Because when I’m being filmed, what I think is say, a steezy 360 with a grab turns out to be an arms everywhere, skis akimbo, snowplough landing 360 with a badly aimed swipe at my boot, and what I think is a super stylish 270 out is a straight legged and flappy armed where my skis aren’t perpendicular to the rail and I land at approximately 240 degrees.

What makes it even worse, especially when a GoPro is involved, is that you spend a whole day filming, making an effort to look really cool and stylish (which is quite hard for me because I am in fact neither of these things) and then you go home all excited to see what you spent all day doing. And then you watch it and realise its TERRIBLE and no one in their right mind would want to watch and of it.

Yet somehow it ended up on film anyway… And I’m not super proud of it, but it’s definitely the best yet. And now I’ve implied that it might not be very good hopefully it will be pleasantly surprising.

Thanks to Sam McMahon of Gnarwhal Media for the filming and rad editing skills. And to Foals. Sorry I stole your song. Its really good.

http://www.vimeo.com/gnarwhalmedia/

http://www.foals.co.uk

Leave a Reply

