Back to Basics

Well, January is over already and I’m finding myself asking, where has all that time gone? Seriously. Where did it go?

There’s been lots of work, rubbish weather and illness… the cameraman has left me to do some fancy freelance work for some snowboarding magazine in the UK… Whiteguys, or Whitelines? Something like that…

Amid all this eventfulness, I seem to remember making a new year’s resolution. One was to actually get paid for some writing work (cue a well timed cough) and the other, which is pretty much the same one I make every year, was to get better at skiing. A bit vague, I know, but I manage to learn at least one new trick a season so it’s not a complete waste of time.

However, when the weather forecast looks like this, and is subject to change every two hours, it gets hard to work up the courage to try new stuff. Being able to see lips, landings and take offs is quite important to my confidence, you see. We’ve had the kind of uninspiring weather where you look out the window and think, meh. A lot of cloud but no snow, icy, punter filled pistes and an unstable snowpack. What can you do on a day like that?

Untitled

Wind, grey skies and minimal snow. SWEET.

 Instead of using these days to lie around in bed watching TV and eating Nutella straight out of the jar, I’ve decided to go back to basics and learn all those things I should have learned when I started freeskiing, but since I didn’t know anything about freeskiing then, I didn’t learn them. I’m talking grabs, spinning the other way, doing rails the other way, getting the correct stance for doing rails, stuff like that.

All these things are great for practicing on a nothing day. They’re also getting into the kind of technical category (apart from the rail stance, that’s my bad) and I’m starting to get the feeling I’m just not a very technical person. After all, I can barely use a computer. Thinking about more than one thing at a time can prove quite difficult, especially when, like me, you’re so used to doing things the same way all the time.

 I pushed through though, and I’ve just about managed to get away from doing boot grabs when I spin, (which according to FIS rules, don’t even count as a real grab) and have moved on to the ever so technical safety grab.  I’ve not managed to up my rail game at all because apparently the shapers in Avoriaz don’t know what a progressive rail looks like, let alone how to put one into the ground. Just making it to the end without feeling like I’m going to have a serious accident is good enough.

Grabbin'

Getting there…

I have managed to spin (and land, I might add) some right side 360s. On a blue jump. It’s not much but it’s definitely a start, I feel like I’ve learned something even though it’s a trick I can already do, so my efforts haven’t been a complete waste. Hopefully I’ll even be able to pop one in my next edit. If the cameraman ever returns from the office…

Leave a Reply

